Subsection 7.--Manitoba

Besides its Lieutenant-Governor, Manitoba has a Provincial Executive composed of 12 men and a Legislative Assembly of 58 elected for five years.* The Provincial Executive, headed by the Premier and President of the Council, who is also Minister of Dominion-Provincial Relations, consists of: the Minister of Agriculture and Immigration; the Provincial Treasurer; the Minister of Labour; the Municipal Commissioner; the Minister of Mines and Natural Resources who is also the Minister presiding over the Department of Industry and Commerce; the Attorney General; the Provincial Secretary; the Minister of Public Utilities, who is the Minister under the Manitoba Power Commission Act, the Manitoba Telephone Act and the Municipal and Public Utility Board Act; the Minister of Health and Public Welfare; the Minister of Education; the Minister of Public Works.

The Premier of the Province is paid a salary of \$7,050 per annum and the other members of the Cabinet a salary of \$5,287.80 each. The Members of the Legislature of this Province are each paid an indemnity and an allowance of \$2,000, being made up of \$1,350 indemnity and \$650 as an expense allowance. The Leader of the Opposition group in the Legislature is paid an additional amount of \$1,500. The Speaker of the Legislature is paid a salary of \$2,000 in addition to the indemnity and expense allowance.

18.—Lieutenant-Governors of Manitoba, 1870-1949, Legislatures and Premiers, 1934-49, and Present Ministry as at Aug. 1, 1949

Note.—See headnote to Table 13, p. 118.

Lieutenant-Governors

Name	Date of Commission	Name	Date of Commission	
Francis Goodschall Johnson Alexander Morris Joseph E. Cauchon	Apr. 9, 1872 Dec. 2, 1872 Oct. 8, 1877 Sept. 29, 1882 July 1, 1888 Sept. 2, 1895		Aug. 3, 1916 Oct. 17, 1921 1 Oct. 9, 1926 Jan. 25, 1929 Dec. 1, 1934	

¹ Second term.

Legislatures, 1934-491

Date of	Legislature	Number	Date of	Date of
Election		of Sessions	First Opening	Dissolution
June 16, 1932 July 27, 1936 Apr. 22, 1941 Oct. 15, 1945	19th General Assembly 20th General Assembly 21st General Assembly 22nd General Assembly	5 5	Feb. 14, 1933 Feb. 18, 1937 Dec. 9, 1941 Feb. 19, 1946	June 12, 1936 Mar. 13, 1941 Sept. 8, 1945

¹ The Ministries from 1934-49 were: 12th Ministry, sworn in Aug. 8, 1922, under the leadership of Hon. J. Bracken: 13th Ministry, sworn in Jan. 14, 1943, under the leadership of Hon. Stuart S. Garson, K.C.; 4th Ministry, sworn in Nov. 13, 1948, under the leadership of Hon. D. L. Campbell. ² Life of Legislature not yet expired.

^{*} An Act to amend the Legislative Assembly Act has been passed by the Manitoba Legislature to change the membership from 55 members plus the three representatives of the Armed Forces to 57 members effective at the next General Election.